The Shor Language

General Information on the Language

Self-ethnonym of the ethnic group

Bibliography on the Shor language

The most used names are Shor and Tadar Kizhiler (тадар кижилер) in Shor language (adopted from Russians, literally, Tatars) and Shor Kizhiler (шор кижилер) (Shor is a largest clan of Shor people);

Names and self-names of the language

Shor (Russian: шорский) is name of the language used by other peoples; Tadar til (тадар тил), Shor (шор тил) are names of the language used by Shors themselves.

Photo © Rashid Salikhov, 2004. Archive of Tomaskaya Pisanitsa Natural preserve and Museum

Generic affiliation

The Shor language belongs to Khakass subgroup of Uighur-Oguz group of Turkic language family.

Geographical Spread of the Language

The Shors live in the south of Kemerovskaya Province (Gornaya Shoria), downstream of Kondoma, Mrassu and Tom Rivers.

Language contacts

In prehistoric period the Shor language had contacts with Ket and Ob Ugric languages; in the early ancient Turkic period, contacts with Iranian languages, in later periods – with Mongolian, and at present – with Russian and Turkic languages of Gorniy Altai and Khakassiya.

Number of Native Speakers

The total number of native speakers equals to 15900 Shors (census of 1989); less than 10% of them are fluent in their language.

Dialects and subdialects

There are two main dialects: Mrassu and Kondoma; each of them has a well-developed network of subdialects: the main subdialects of Kondoma dialect are Lower Mrassu, including Abashevo vernacular, Mundybash (Kalar), Antropovo, Upper Kondoma, Pyzas; the main subdialects of Mrassu dialect are Lower Mrassu, Tom, Middle Mrassu, Kobyrza, Upper Mrassu, including Orton vernacular; at present, due to mobility of Shor population, blending of subdialects and leveling of dialectal distinctions are in progress.

Linguistic Characteristic of the Language

Photo © Rashid Salikhov, 2004. Archive of Tomaskaya Pisanitsa Natural preserve and Museum


Vocalism: 8 short and 8 long vowel phonemes (а, о, ы, у, е, ö, и, ÿ). Long vowels appeared as a result of omission of a number of intervocalic vowels. Palatal and labial vowel harmony is characteristic in the frameworks of multisyllabic root and affixal wordform. Palatal vowel harmony is broken in subdialects of Kondoma dialect; labial harmony is rather characteristic of Mrassu dialect and is broken in Kondoma dialect. There is aspiratory musical stress.

Consonantism is expressed in full or partial regressive assimilation and palatalization of consonants л, с, к in soft row words.


Postaffixal agglutination with elements of analytism, fusion processes at the junction of morphemes. Nouns are characterized by morphological categories of the number, case, possessiveness, predication; the verbs – by categories of mood, tense, person/number, modality, aspect, actionsart, voice, negation. There is a well-developed system of infinite verbal forms: participles as polyfunctional forms, combining the finite function with various infinite ones, adverbial participles, infinitives.

The structure of nominal and verbal wordforms can be described in terms of the grammar of order: a maximal nominal wordform consists of a lexical morpheme (left), an affix of plural number, an affix of possessiveness (right); a maximal verbal wordform consists of a lexical morpheme (root or a derivative, probably, with actionsart indices) (left), an affix of negation, mood/tense, person/number (right).

Semantic and grammatical data

Noun: a well-developed network of spatial cases, which is presently enriched in the result of the synthesis of postpositions, the presence of продольного и направительного падежей in addition to common Turkic locative, ablative and dative cases.

Verb: the expression of actionsart, modal and aspect/tense meanings, primarily, in the frameworks of analytical verbal constructions with postverbs, the presence of categorical markers of indirectness of action.

Syntactic data

The language has a nominative structure, unmarked word order in the sentence: “subject-object-predicate”, with subordinate syntactic members (predicative and non-predicative) preceding their “master” and syntactic relations between situations are expressed, mostly, in the frameworks of a monofit complex sentence (монофитное сложное предложение) with an infinite form of the verb in a subordinate clause.

Socio-Linguistic Description of the Language

  • Legal status, the present day situation of the language: a language of a numerically small indigenous people of the North;
  • Writing and orthography: created by Altai missionaries in the XIX century; in the years of cultural revolution the literary form was rapidly developing and Shor was used as a language of instruction in schools; non-literate period (1942-1988) followed; Shor written language has been revived since the end of the 80s of the XX century; contemporary Shor orthography was developed by E.F. Chispiyakov;
  • Social functions of the language: family communication, the language of communication in production teams, in traditional economic spheres in the localities with compact Shor communities; teachers of Shor language and literature are prepared in KSPA, original works are published in Shor language, Shor department of the Union of writers of Russia is working, periodical Shor supplement is published in local press;
  • The degree and history of studies of the language with reference to archives (with a link and copyright information): substantial materials on Shor folklore (for instance, the archive of N.P. Dyrenkova) were collected, many phonological and grammatical subsystems were described; there is no either academic grammar or academic Shor-Russian dictionary.

The beginning of Shor epic tale Qan Mergen in Latin transcription. In: Шорский фольклор / Сост. Н.П. Дыренкова. М.-Л., 1940. С. 82.

Sample of Shor folklore text

The beginnig of the Shor epic story Qara-Qan

Recorded by D.A. Funk from storyteller V.E. Tannagashev in Myski town, Kemerovskaya Province, 2002. [mp3 (36 s / 282 Kb) listen]

Амдыг(ы) тöлдиң алында полча,
Earlier, than the present generation it was,

Пурун(гу) тöлдиң соонда полча.
Later, than the past generation it was.

Чер пÿдерде,
When the land was created,

Чер-суг кабыжарда полча.
When the land and the water were struggling, it was.

Калакпа чер пöлÿшкан темнер полтур,
In those times when the land was divided with a stirrer,

Камышпа суг пöлÿшчиткан темнер полтур.
In those times when the water was divided by cane.

Кöгериш келип кöк öлең öс чаттыр,
Turning green, young grass grew, as it turns out.

Алтын пÿрлÿ ак казынның паштарында
At the top of a white birch with golden leaves

Кырык кушка какыш чöрча,
Forty birds are twitting,

Кöк öлең паштарында
On the green grass

Кöк торчуктар кöглеп чиган полтур.
Young nightingales were singing, as it turns out.

Часкы тем полтур.
It was spring time, as it turns out.


Photo © Rashid Salikhov, 2004. Archive of Tomaskaya Pisanitsa Natural preserve and Museum

Photo © Rashid Salikhov, 2004. Archive of Tomaskaya Pisanitsa Natural preserve and Museum

Specialists and Academic Centers Conducting Studies of the Language

  • Kuzbass State Pedagogical Academy (Novokuznetsk)
  • Institute of Philology, Siberian Branch, RAS
  • Institute of Turkic Studies of the University of Frankfurt

Projects of Studies of the Language

Project “Shorika”: DFG and RFFR, 1989-2002. [details]

© IEA RAS, 2005
This website was created with support from UNESCO Moscow Office

Шорский язык

Общие сведения о языке

Самоназвание этнической группы

Библиография по языку и культуре шорцев

Шорцы

По шорски — тадар кижилер (перенято от русских, буквально: татары) и шор кижилер (шор – один из крупных родов у шорцев).

Варианты названия и самоназвания языка

Фото © Рашид Салихов, 2004 г. Архив МЗТП

Название языка – шорский; самоназвание — тадар тил, шор тил.

Генетическая принадлежность

Хакасская подгруппа уйгуро-огузской группы тюркской семьи языков.

География распространения языка

Юг Кемеровской области (Горная Шория), по течениям рек Кондома, Мрассу и Томь

Языковые контакты

В доисторический период – контакты с кетским языком и обско-угорскими; в ранний древнетюркский период – контакты с иранскими языками, позже с монгольским, в настоящее время – с русским и тюркскими языками Горного Алтая и Хакассии.

Численность носителей языка

Всего 15900 шорцев (перепись 1989); из них менее 10% владеют языком в полной мере

Наличие говоров, диалектов

Два основных диалекта: мрасский и кондомский; каждый из них имеет разветвленную систему говоров: основные говоры кондомского диалекта – нижнемрасский с абашевским подговором, мундыбашский (каларский), антроповский, верхнекондомский, пызасский; основные говоры мрасского диалекта – нижнемрасский, томский, среднемрасский, кобырзинский, верхнемрасский с ортонским подговором; в наcтоящее время благодаря мобильности шорского населения идет процесс смешения говоров и нивелировки диалектных различий.

Лингвистическая характеристика языка

Фонология

Фото © Рашид Салихов, 2004 г. Архив МЗТП

Вокализм: 8 кратких и 8 долгих гласных фонем (а, о, ы, у, е, ö, и, ÿ). Долгие гласные – результат выпадения ряда интервокальных согласных. Характерна палатальная и губная гармония гласных в пределах неодносложного корня и аффиксальной словоформы. Палатальная гармония гласных нарушается в говорах кондомского диалекта, губная гармония более характерна для мрасского диалекта и нарушается в кондомском. Удорение – эспираторно-музыкальное.

Консонантизм: полная или частичная регрессивная ассимиляция, палатализация согласных л, с, к в мягкорядных словах

Морфология

Постфиксальная агглютинация с элементами аналитизма, фузионные процессы на стыках морфем. Имена характеризуются морфологическими категориями числа, падежа, принадлежности, предикативности; глаголы – категориями наклонения, времени, лица-числа, модальности, аспекта, акционсарта, залога, отрицания. Имеется развитая система инфинитных форм глагола: причастия как полифункциональные формы, совмещающие финитную функцию с разнообразными инфинитными, деепричастия, инфинитив.

Структура именных и глагольных словоформ может быть описана в терминах грамматики порядков: максимальная именная словоформа состоит слева направо из лексической морфемы, аффикса мн. ч., аффикса принадлежности, аффикса падежа; максимальная глагольная словоформа состоит слева направо из лексической морфемы (корневой или деривата, возможно с акционсартными показателями), аффикса отрицания, наклонения-времени, лица-числа.

Семантико-грамматические сведения

Имя: развитая система пространственных падежей, которая попоняется и в настоящее время в результате синтезации послелогов, наличие продольного и направительного падежей в дополнение к общетюркскому локативу, аблативу и дативу.

Глагол: выражение акционсартных, модальных и аспектуально-временных значений преимущественно в рамках аналитических глагольных конструкций с поствербами, наличие маркеров категории опосредованности действия.

Синтаксические сведения

Язык номинативного строя, немаркированный порядок слов в предложении: «субъект – объект — предикат», зависимые синтаксические члены (предикативные и непредикативные) предшествуют своему «хозяину», синтаксические отношение между ситуациями выражаются преимущественно в рамках монофинитногосложного предложения с инфинитной формой глагола в зависимой части.

Социолингвистическая характеристика языка

  • юридический статус языка в настоящее время: один из малочисленных коренных языков Севера;
  • письменность и орфография: создана алтайскими миссионерами в 19 веке, в годы культурной революции наблюдалось бурное развитие литературной формы и школьное преподавание на шорском языка, период бесписьменности (1942-1988), возрождение шорской письменности, начиная с конца 80-ых годов 20-го века, современная шорская орфография разработана Э. Ф. Чиспияковым;
  • общественные функции языка: семейное общение, язык общения в однонациональных производственных коллективах, занятых традиционной хозяйственной деятельностью в местах компактного проживания коренного населения, шорский является сегодня одним из изучаемых предметов в ряде шорских школ в местах компактного проживания шорцев, идет подготовка учителей шорского языка и литературы в КГПА, издаются оригинальные произведения на шорском языке, имеется шорское отделение Союза писателей России, периодически печатается шорская страничка в местной прессе;
  • степень изученности языка: собран значительный материал по шорскому фольклору (например, архив Н. П. Дыренковой), описаны многие фонологические и грамматические подсистемы, нет современной академической грамматики, нет академического шорско-русского словаря.

Начало сказания «Кан Мерген» в латинской транскрипции. Шорский фольклор / Сост. Н.П. Дыренкова. М.-Л., 1940. С. 82.

Образец фольклорного текста

Зачин шорского эпического сказания «Кара-Кан»

Записано Д.А. Функом от сказителя В.Е. Таннагашева в г. Мыски Кемеровской области, 2002 г. Современная шорская орфография. [запись в формате mp3 (36 сек. / 282 Kb) прослушать]

Амдыг(ы) тöлдиң алында полча,
Нынешнего поколения раньше было,

Пурун(гу) тöлдиң соонда полча.
Прежнего поколения позже было.

Чер пÿдерде,
Когда создавалась земля,

Чер-суг кабыжарда полча.
Когда боролись земля и вода, было.

Калакпа чер пöлÿшкан темнер полтур,
В те времена, когда делилась мешалкой земля,

Камышпа суг пöлÿшчиткан темнер полтур.
В те времена, когда камышом делилась вода.

Кöгериш келип кöк öлең öс чаттыр,
Зеленея, молодая трава вырастала, оказывается.

Алтын пÿрлÿ ак казынның паштарында
На вершине белой березы с золотыми листьями

Кырык кушка какыш чöрча,
Сорок птиц щебечут,

Кöк öлең паштарында
На зеленой траве

Кöк торчуктар кöглеп чиган полтур.
Молодые соловьи пели, оказывается.

Часкы тем полтур.
Весенее время было, оказывается.

Фотографии

Фото © Рашид Салихов, 2004 г. Архив МЗТП

Фото © Рашид Салихов, 2004 г. Архив МЗТП

Научные центры, занимающиеся исследованием языка

  • Кузбасская государственная педагогическая академия (Новокузнецк)
  • Институт филологии СО РАН
  • Институт тюркологии университета г. Франкфурта

Проекты изучения языка

Проект «Шорика»: ННИО и РФФИ, 1989-2002 год [подробнее]

Google
WWW lingsib.iea.ras.ru
© ИЭА РАН, 2005 г.
Сайт создан при поддержке Бюро ЮНЕСКО в Москве